Faces of InWorldz – Calnia Westland

So today I was fortunate enough to meet up with Calnia for a chat at Brewster Park. I was here about a week ago, exploring and taking pictures and really wanted to find out more about the background behind the place, but even more importantly, I wanted to learn more about Calnia Westland, a lovely resident here.

We sat near the water’s edge, such a nice relaxing place, and after eyeing up the wine on the table (yes it was only ten am, but SOMEWHERE it was after 12pm!) I began the question bombardment… I mean interview.

Inworldz Blog June Calnia and Moon

Moonrise Azalee: Well, first of all, I would really like to thank you for taking the time to chat with me this morning!

Calnia Westland: Its my pleasure and an honor too 🙂

Moonrise Azalee: So to start, how long have you been in InWorldz for?

Calnia Westland: I joined in October 2010. I checked in from time to time, but didn’t become active here until 2014.

Moonrise Azalee: What brought you to InWorldz orignally?

Calnia Westland: I was an Estate Manager in SL (Second Life). The community I belonged to decided to open a community here too. So I came along.

Moonrise Azalee: What were your first impressions back then, that was six years ago, I imagine it was a bit early in it’s stage of development?

Calnia Westland: The computer I had just couldn’t handle IW for some reason. I couldn’t walk without rubber-banding and I crashed all the time. It was frustrating.

Moonrise Azalee: I can imagine. What brought you back the second time, and how was that experience?

Calnia Westland: I came back occasionally, because I had friends who really liked it here. But it wasn’t until 2014 that I realized my new computer really could handle IW. And the friend I mentioned before, offered me the same type position that I had in SL…an Estate Manager. However, we soon realized that type of position wasn’t really needed here, but I grew to love it during the process. And so I stayed.

Moonrise Azalee: You say the Estate Manager position wasn’t really needed here, why do you think that was, and where did your focus turn to instead?

Calnia Westland: When i was an EM in SL, the estate had strict requirements and people were not allowed to terraform. But here, there were no restrictions like that. So an EM really wasn’t necessary. My focus has always been on landscaping. If I see an undeveloped parcel, I want to put a tree on it! Its a compulsion! *laughs*

Moonrise Azalee: *laughs* I can totally relate, parcels to me look like a blank canvas.

Calnia Westland: Exactly so!

Moonrise Azalee: You mention landscaping, so is that where you started directing your time once you realized being and EM wasn’t required?

Calnia Westland: I rented a sim from my friends and the sim I chose just happened to be in the middle of the Black Powder Seas, which is pirate territory. Because of the location, I got involved a bit in pirating, but my main focus was on landscaping my sim.

Moonrise Azalee: Can you tell me a bit about the place we are at right now

Calnia Westland: Brewster Park is one sim in a quad (4 sim region) . I am also renting another sim in this quad, which has a house and my fleet  of boats on it. That sim is named Brewster and I rented it because I wanted a quiet place away from the pirated area. Where we are now – Brewster Park-  was vacant….and I would stare at it and think about all the landscaping possibilities. Finally, I decided to rent it, just so I could play with it! I have lots of ideas and things I hope to add in the future, so this is very much uncompleted.

My pirate sim, Dark Paradise, is also part of a quad. I own that quad now and I rent out the other three sims, but I keep Dark Paradise. I created a large cave there, with a tavern inside, and it took me forever to figure out how to create it. And I’m so pleased with how it turned out.

Moonrise Azalee: That sounds lovely, now you have mentioned this pirate sim, is it roleplay or themed? Can you tell me more about it?

Calnia Westland: In the pirate area where I am, we are not strict about roleplay, but the sims are themed. We do have battles with our pirate ships and other related activities. So my sim is mostly themed, rather than roleplay.
Dark Paradise  http://places.inworldz.com/Dark%20Paradise/159/136/22


Moonrise Azalee: What do you like most about InWorldz, now that you have been here a little while? What do you think stands out most about it?

Calnia Westland: To me this is like a small friendly community. I love that I can see the same people in different places, doing different activities. I love that there are group chats where people actually help one another. And I just love that I can be an active part of it here.

Moonrise Azalee:What do you like most about InWorldz, what do you think stands out about it?

Calnia Westland: To me this is like a small friendly community. I love that I can see the same people in different places, doing different activities. I love that there are group chats where people actually help one another. And I just love that I can be an active part of it here.

Moonrise Azalee: Now, I know landscaping and Pirate themes are a big thing for you *grins* , but I am also a profile perver and see that you are working with, or at Local Colors.

Calnia Westland: I was hired about a week ago. 🙂 I enjoy good music. Local Colors was the first club I learned about and I’m so happy to be on staff there. It’s the longest continuous running club in IW and I love spending time there.

Moonrise Azalee: What do you feel are some of the things that people who’ve never been to InWorldz would appreciate that can’t be found elsewhere?

Moonrise Azalee: So what do you do there as staff? And are there regular weekly events?

Calnia Westland: My title is CEO! Laughing….that stands for Chief Entertainment Officer. I will be handling DJ and Host hiring and scheduling. We have a weekly schedule and are adding more to it each day.
Local Colors http://places.inworldz.com/RedNeck%20Riviera/206/214/22

Moonrise Azalee grins – That sounds like a lot of fun, well.. and alot of work! 🙂 Are there any future plans you have here for yourself in InWorldz? Any other projects coming up, or will the bulk of your time be spent on providing entertainment and beautifully landscaped places?

Calnia Westland: Working at the club is taking a lot of time right now. But as for future plans, I would really like to add more levels here at Brewster Park, with different themes. That will be a personal challenge, because I know what type of landscaping I generally gravitate towards…*looking around at the park*….and going beyond that to say, a desert theme, will take me out of my comfort zone. But I’m looking forward to giving it a try.

Moonrise Azalee: oh! desert theme! that sounds really interesting!

Calnia Westland: smiles….i’ll let you know when i get a desert theme going here 😉

Moonrise Azalee grins, Do you have any advice to people coming to InWorldz, or any final words to share?

Calnia Westland: I would encourage them to not give up because they don’t see a lot of people here. This is not SL, but IMHO, this is much better. Take time to get familiar with it here, make friends, and use the IW Explorer to find places.

Moonrise Azalee: The IW Explorer Hud that can be found at the main landing/welcome – IDI?

Calnia Westland: Yes….i think that’s very helpful, especially when you are new here.

InWorldz Desert Isle Welcome Area

http://places.inworldz.com/InWorldz%20Desert%20Island/140/178/22

calnia blog 3 InWorldz Desert Isle

Moonrise Azalee: Great idea! Calnia I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to meet with me today. It has been a pleasure to chat with you.

Calnia Westland: I’ve enjoyed it so much. Thank you!

Leave a comment